Heathrow Airport continues rollout of self-service bag drop units

Designed and installed by ICM Airport Technics, the SSBD units reduce passenger check-in times, and are currently in use by a number of airlines at Heathrow Airport’s Terminals 2, 3 and 5.

Heathrow Airport’s rollout of self-service bag drop (SSBD) units is gathering pace with over 100 Series 1 Type 2 units now live as airlines in Terminals 2, 3 and 5 have embraced the technology.

Designed and installed by ICM Airport Technics, the SSBD units reduce passenger check-in times, and are currently in use by airlines including Aegean Airlines, Aer Lingus, Austrian Airlines, British Airways, Brussels Airlines, Cathay Pacific, Croatia Airlines, Delta Air Lines, Eurowings, Finnair, LOT Polish Airlines, Lufthansa, Scandinavian Airlines, Swiss International Air Lines, TAP Air Portugal, and Virgin Atlantic.

In early 2018 a framework agreement was signed between ICM and Heathrow for collaboration on an integrated SSBD product for use in all Heathrow terminals. This terminal-wide implementation sees ICM delivering the units, complete with CUSS platform and White Label application, as well as providing a range of managed support services.

The installation is part of Heathrow Airport’s automation programme, offering self-service options to passengers, including an ambitious biometrics project which will see biometrics used across the passenger journey including bag drop.

As reported by FTE last October, Heathrow Airport announced plans to invest £50 million in a full-scale rollout of new biometrics services from summer 2019.

Prior to the installation of the Type 2 units, ICM’s SSBD technology was already in use at Heathrow with 24 Series 1 Type 1 units in operation at Terminal 5 with British Airways.

Mike Sanderson, Managing Director of ICM UK, commented: “We are thrilled by Heathrow’s adoption of ICM’s self-service bag drop technology, and proud to be at the forefront of technological advancements at the world’s best-known airport. Having such a large presence at yet another world-class airport confirms ICM’s position as a leader in the self-service bag drop market.”

Join the baggage innovation hub for the air transport industry – low-cost, effective and productive technology realisation

Last year the FTE Baggage Innovation Working Group went from an idea to a membership of nearly 400, delivered a proof of concept, built an airport lab network and ran a face-to-face meeting alongside FTE Global in Las Vegas. Following the successful launch of the initiative, FTE is introducing the expanded BIWG for 2022. The working group brings together the most innovative and progressive baggage supply chain companies, airlines and airports from across the industry to provide a unique platform for the development of new techniques, technologies and business models to deliver tangible change in the baggage sector. It is the industry’s best networking platform for those serious about baggage.

The Baggage Innovation Working Group meets every six weeks, and is led by our industry captains including Andrew Price, Head of Baggage Transformation, FTE; Jason Odey Director, Global Baggage Excellence, Air Canada; Kevin Kleist, Emerging Trends Advisor, Southwest Airlines; Darin Juby, Director Baggage Services, Greater Toronto Airports Authority; and Idar Sørgjerd Manager, Baggage Handling Service, Technical Infrastructure & Innovations Avinor, who set the high-level agenda for each BIWG meeting. The next BIWG call will take place on 16 February, 15:00 CET and will look into the trends for the year ahead and conclusions from our latest POC around reclaim optimisation. The POC aims to develop a tool that can be used to automatically allocate baggage reclaim belts based on the arrival patterns of aircraft and their baggage loads.

Members who have already signed up for 2022 also include SITA, Collins Aerospace, Amadeus, Brock Solutions, and Owens Group. Interested in joining? Find out more and contact us for more information on our low-cost membership options.

Visit the FTE Baggage Innovation Working Group page >>   



Comments are closed.